The first topic I’d like to write about is “Hanakotoba,” which refers to the language of flowers. 

In Japan, it’s called “hanakotoba,” but a more refined way to put is “Floriography.”
This term was created during the Victorian era in England. It’s indeed a word with a noble impression, isn’t it?
Anyway, I think it’s wonderful that we can convey emotions through flowers.

The language of flowers varies from country to country.
Unexpectedly, new varieties are named by their developers, sometimes solicited from consumers, or even independently decided by flower companies.

One of our main flowers, the Gerberas, has slightly different meanings depending on the country.
In Japan, it represents “hope” and “always moving forward.”
In Malaysia, it’s associated with “sheer beauty” and “innocence,” while in Western countries, it symbolizes “happiness,” “cheerfulness,” and “devotion.”

What I find interesting is that the number of flowers also changes the meaning.

For example:

  • One stem: Love at first sight / You are my fate.
  • Three stems: I love you.
  • Four stems: I dedicate my eternal love to you.
  • Six stems: I’m captivated by you.
  • Eight stems: Grateful for your thoughtfulness.
  • Nine stems: Let’s be together forever.
  • Eleven stems: You are my dearest person.
  • Twelve stems: Please be my lover.
  • Forty stems: Eternal love.
  • One hundred stems: Please marry me.

It’s quite a language of love, isn’t it? ☺️

Sending these to a lover is a great idea, but even if not, Gerberas are simply colorful and cute, making them easy to decorate with.
Their large size makes them perfect for single stem vases and other arrangements. 

So, don’t worry if you feel a bit hesitant about flower arranging. Give it a try in your daily life – you’ll see it’s not that hard at all!